wsre_cove_w_2.png youtube.png pinterest.png instagram.png twitter_w-01.png facebook_w-01.png newbuttondonate_3 copy.png__210x10000_q85_subsampling-2.png

Public Square Speakers Series

WSRE’s Public Square Speakers Series brings personalities, who have achieved renown for their contributions to education, the arts, sciences or media, to the Jean & Paul Amos Performance Studio for public conversations on noteworthy topics and important issues. Public Square events are open to the public. Admission is free!

Coming up next:

  • Cynthia Barnett (Tues, April 23)

Past Speakers:

  • Rick Bragg
  • Rory Kennedy
  • Caroll Spinney
  • Alexandra Cousteau
  • James McLurkin
  • Trace Beaulieu & Frank Conniff
  • Sonia Manzano
  • Ellen Prager
  • Robert Putnam
  • Margot Carlson Delogne & Anthony Istrico from "The 2 Sides Project"
  • Tegan Griffith & Terrence Davenport from "American Creed"
  • Wayne Flynt & Nancy Anderson
  • Jeff Klinkenberg 
  • Jack E. Davis
  • Ersula Knox-Odom

Programs begin at 7 p.m. ▪ Doors open at 6:30 p.m.
WSRE Jean & Paul Amos Performance Studio
Open to the Public ▪ Free Admission

Directions: WSRE is located on the Pensacola State College campus (building 23) at 1000 College Blvd. in Pensacola. The station sits at the corner of 12th Ave. and College Blvd. Parking for the Amos Studio is located at the west end of the station, off College Blvd. near the PSC Hartsell Arena and pool.

Ersula Knox Odom

Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Comes to Life

March 5, 2019

An author, motivational speaker and Florida Humanities Council La Florida performer, Ersula Knox Odom will portray legendary educator and black leader Mary McLeod Bethune in 1954. In costume and in character, she will share stories of Bethune’s extraordinary contribution to democracy as a New Deal government official in one of the 20 highest-level offices held by women in the FDR administration and the highest held by an African American woman. Bethune was founder of Bethune-Cookman University, founder of FDR’s “black cabinet,” served as president of the National Association of Colored Women, and founded and served as president of the National Council of Negro Women.