Press Room


WSRe-news      WSRE on Facebook      WSRE on YouTube

WSRE on Twitter      WSRE's Blog      WSRE on Flickr

WSRE is Raising Readers with PBS Kids Ready To Learn!

View Full TV Schedule
Contact Us
WSRE is Raising Readers with PBS Kids Ready To Learn!

Mr Rodgers What If Big Bird What If Julia Childs What If Art What If


Give Now

a service of
Pensacola State College

WSRE vCard
Add to your Contacts

WSRE vCard
Bookmark our site
on your phone.

Press Room

Special WSRE StudioAmped Concert to Feature

Talent from Pensacola Beach Songwriters Festival

Pensacola, Fla. — A “special edition” of StudioAmped featuring songwriters from the Pensacola Beach Songwriters Festival will be taped on Tuesday, October 2 at WSRE’s Jean and Paul Amos Performance Studio on the campus of Pensacola State College. The public is invited to be part of the studio audience and admission is free. Doors open at 6 p.m. and the concert will start at 7 p.m. The program is scheduled to air on WSRE Thursday, October 18, 9 p.m. Songwriters will perform their songs made famous by well-known recording artists. Scheduled to appear are Beth Nielsen Chapman, Dan Demay and Kerry Kurt Phillips.

Beth Nielsen Chapman’s hit songs have been recorded across a variety of musical genres by a who’s who of great artists including Faith Hill, Bette Midler, Elton John, Bonnie Raitt, Neil Diamond and Willie Nelson. From the tragedy of her husband’s death in 1994, through her battle with breast cancer and a brain tumor a few years later, Chapman has comforted herself and inspired millions with her music.

Dan Demay currently writes for Atlantic Bridge Music. He has written for EMI, Mosaic (Stage Three), Friday Records. He’s had songs recorded by Darryl Worley (If Something Should Happen, Doing What’s Right, Messed Up In Memphis), Martina McBride (Everybody Does), Tracy Lawrence (You Can’t Hide Red Neck), Joey+Rory (Heart Of The Wood), Tracy Byrd (Crazy Every Time), Cledus T Judd (Illegals), John Michael Montgomery (All In A Day), Bobby Pinson (Right To Be Wrong).

Kerry Kurt Phillips’ songs have been featured in motion pictures, TV series, Super Bowl commercials and in the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games. He has achieved five number one singles and has been awarded over 75 gold and 36 platinum albums. One of his biggest achievements was winning the TNN/Music City News “Song Of The Year Award” for Billy Ray Cyrus’, “It’s All The Same To Me.” Some of Phillips’ biggest hits include the George Jones smash, "I Don't Need Your Rockin' Chair," Joe Diffie's, "Is It Cold In Here," "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox" and "Pickup Man," and Tim McGraw's "Down On the Farm" and “Do You Want Fries With That.” “This Ain’t Nothin’”, another single by Craig Morgan, recently won the ICMA’s “Inspirational Song Of The Year” category. George Strait’s “She Let Herself Go” was Phillips’ latest number one song.

For more information on StudioAmped, visit

About WSRE, PBS for the Gulf Coast
WSRE is a PBS member station that is locally owned and licensed to the Pensacola State College Board of Trustees operating as a service of Pensacola State College. The public broadcasting station has been serving the needs of the Gulf Coast community through programming, educational services and outreach since 1967. WSRE produces, acquires and distributes programs that address local interests and reflect the diverse cultural, political, geographic and demographic characteristics of its audience. The Educational Services unit for WSRE serves as the connection to teachers, parents, caregivers and children to extend the rich resources found in public television. For more information about WSRE, its services, programs or available resources, visit


Media Note: For graphics, pictures, and other associated press releases visit WSRE's Pressroom at



WSRE, PBS for the Gulf Coast
Pensacola State College
1000 College Blvd., Pensacola, FL 32504
(850) 484-1200 or 1-800-239-9773
Fax: (850) 484-1255

Pensacola State College EA/EO Policy   | Sitemap
Please contact Darrel Harrison 850-484-1285 or

Best viewed on Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browsers.